Anna was asked to join the Academy of arts and sciences, which means she will get to help choose the Oscar winners in the future. Many other 2010 Oscar contendors seem to have been asked, to:

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences extended invitations today to 135 top actors, filmmakers, and studio execs — plus Bono, the Edge, Adam Sandler, and Tobin Bell — to join the Oscar-bestowing organization. Other notable members-to-be: T-Bone Burnett, Vera Farmiga, James Gandolfini, Anna Kendrick, Mo’Nique, Carey Mulligan, Jeremy Renner, Ryan Reynolds, Saoirse Ronan, Zoe Saldana, Gabourey Sidibe, and Christoph Waltz. We hope the Oscar-voting half of U2 at least lets Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen Jr. borrow their screeners. {NY Mag}

This is awesome, but I hope Anna is still able to participate in the Oscars herself, since she is bound to get one soon!